Illustrator vs. InDesign

Okay followers, here is my question. What program do you prefer to design in, Adobe Illustrator or Adobe InDesign? Or perhaps another program new to the design world?  Let’s vote.

Well, the programs are pretty similar, in appearance and functions.  I am fluent in both and go back-and-forth on which is my fav.   I’m a list-maker, the easiest way for me to make a hard life decision (and yes this is a hard life decision) is to write out a list of pro’s and con’s (and yes I actually do this).  So let’s make a list..and feel free to comment and add more if I missed one or you think I’m crazy and everything on my list is nonsense… which ehh sometimes happens..  also, here is a link to another blog that does a great job of explaining the benefits of each Dream Infinity Studios.

Illustrator

Pros: draw freehand with pen tool, can save directly as a PDF, more template options, better for web/logos

Cons: can only change document settings when you start the new document, have to look for options in headings

InDesign

Pros: make document changes anytime, more options in the front view, can change number of columns or pages with one button, better for heavy text or layouts

Cons: can only export as JPEG, PDF, ect.

These are def only a few that I came up with right now, here is what the layouts look like so some of these points make more sense…

Illustrator                                                                                       InDesign

           

source                                                                                       source

As you can see, they are both pretty similar, and they are both proving my points above, Illustrator is better for logos and web, and InDesign is better for heavy text (magazines, newspapers, ect.).

Today, I prefer Illustrator, this may change tomorrow but for right now it is my program of choice.  The main reason being, it’s bright and white and looks more modern.  This could just be my weird opinion but InDesign is an off-white color and seems more old-school to me, it might not be, but the format and color of it makes it seem like it is the program of the past and Illustrator is the new and improved.  So naturally, I am drawn to the bright, white, shiny one. 🙂 Give me your input followers! I’m curious to see what other people think!

Until next week… keep makin’ stuff pretty! 🙂

    • Maddie
    • November 7th, 2011

    I’m an Illustrator fan myself! But InDesign is great for layout.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment